Welcome to the M3 website !

The Molecular Materials & Magnetism (M3) team is a research group lead by Rodolphe Clérac since 2001, and composed of Harald Bock, Fabien Durola, Pierre Dechambenoit, Corine Mathonière, Xavier Brilland and  Mathieu Rouzières.
The M3 research group is working at the Centre de Recherche Paul Pascal (CRPP), a CNRS scientific center situated on the campus of the Université de Bordeaux.

M3 research ACTIVITIES

Team M3 a research group for molecular materials and magnetism

The Molecular Materials & Magnetism (M3) team is working on new molecules and molecule-based materials.

From their synthesis to their characterization, in order to promote and control interesting physical properties such as magnetism, electrical conductivity, superconductivity, porosity, spin-crossover, single-molecule and single-chain magnets, magnets…

Five main themes of research are currently being developed.

  • Macroconjugated polyaromatic molecules
  • Molecule-based magnets and conducting magnets (with high critical temperature)
  • Single-molecule and single-chain magnets (and their derivatives) with high blocking temperatures or photo-switching properties
  • Spin-crossover and paramagnetic metal-metal bonded complexes
  • Magnetic and/or electro-active solutions and liquid-crystals.

In all these projects, our approach is comprehensive, from synthesis to detailed studies of the physical properties and their theoretical description. These different projects benefit from many national and international collaborations and also our involvement in different national and European networks.

Read more

Latest news


They are talking about our metal-organic magnets reported in Science…

“Metal-organic magnets with large coercivity and ordering temperatures up to 242°C”, Science, Vol. 370, Issue 6516, pp. 587-592, (2020) – ...
Metal-organic magnets with large coercivity and ordering temperature

Metal-organic magnets with large coercivity and ordering temperature up to 242°C

Towards next-generation molecule-based magnets Magnets are to be found everywhere in our daily lives, whether in satellites, telephones or on ...

Rodolphe Clérac has been elected to the Academia Europaea (Chemical sciences section)

What is the Academia Europaea? The object of Academia Europaea is the advancement and propagation of excellence in scholarship in ...
Highlight Maglab

MagLAB is talking about us… “Molecular magnetic building blocks”

This study reports the first transition metal compounds featuring mixed fluoride–cyanide ligands. A significant enhancement of the magnetic anisotropy, as ...

Latest publications

[678]. P. Perlepe, I. Oyarzabal, A. Mailman, M. Yquel, M. Platunov, I. Dovgaliuk, M. Rouzières, P. Négrier, D. Mondieig, E. A. Suturina, M.A. Dourges, S. Bonhommeau, R. A. Musgrave, K. S. Pedersen, D. Chernyshov, F. Wilhelm, A. Rogalev, C. Mathonière, R. Clérac, Metal-organic magnets with large coercivity and ordering temperatures up to 242°C”, Science, Vol. 370, Issue 6516, pp. 587-592, (2020) – 10.1126/science.abb3861Abstract – Reprint Full text

[677]. R. Gautier, R. Clérac, M. Paris and F. Massuyeau “Role of specific distorted metal complexes in exciton self-trapping for hybrid metal halides”, Chem. Commun., 56, 10139-10142, (2020) – 10.1039/d0cc04778chal-02929967

[676]. M.G. Alexandru, D. Visinescu, A.M. Madalan, R. Clérac and M. Andruh “Structure and Magnetic Properties of an Original {CuIIMnIIWV} Heterotrimetallic Coordination Polymer”, Eur. J. Inorg. Chem., 3111-3114, (2020) – 10.1002/ejic.202000469hal-02928009

[675]. C.P. Constantinides, D.B. Lawson, G.A. Zissimou, A.A. Berezin, A. Mailman, M. Manoli, A. Kourtellaris, G.M. Leitus, R. Clérac, H.M. Tuononen and P.A. KoutentisPolymorphism in a π stacked Blatter radical: structures and magnetic properties of 3-(phenyl)- 1-(pyrid-2-yl)-1,4-dihydrobenzo[e][1,2,4]triazin-4- yl”, CrystEngComm, 22, 5453-5463, (2020) – 10.1039/d0ce00789ghal-02928550

[674]. E. Gouré, B. Gerey, F. Molton, J. Pécaut, R. Clérac, F. Thomas, J. Fortage and M.N. Collomb “Seven Reversible Redox Processes in a Self-Assembled Cobalt Pentanuclear Bis(triple-stranded helicate): Structural, Spectroscopic, and Magnetic Characterizations in the CoICoII4, CoII5, and CoII3CoIII2 Redox States “, Inorg. Chem., 59, 9196-9205, (2020) – 10.1021/acs.inorgchem.0c01102hal-02919826

Thanks for fundinds & supports